Log In now to add this Gigapan to a group gallery.
Log In now to add this Gigapan to a gallery.
About This GigapanToggle
- Taken by
- Explore score
- 0.42 Gigapixels
- Date added
- Apr 13, 2013
- Date taken
The 'Gwandeok' means the understanding of virtue and is abstracted from the phrase of 'Sajasoigwanseongdeokya' in order to follow the right sprits of literary and military arts.
It means to try to maintain a good mind and to be a man of virtue at ordinary times.This pavilion was built for the military training center in 1448, 30th year of King Sejong depending upon Tamnaji, one of history books.
It has been repaired many times since the Governor, Yang Chan in 1480, 11th year of King Seongjong.
The current building was repaired in 1969 and the original construction method is estimated to be those around 17th century.
It consists of five rooms in the front and four in the side and the roof is octagonal and its line is similar to a counter-wedge in side view.
The building has all sides open and the column-heads decorate the top of pillars, supporting the eaves in the beautiful wing-like bracketing.It is told that the tablet of the 'Gwandeokjeong' was written by the Prince Anpyeong, third son of King Sejong.
The long eaves of roof were a characteristic but most of eaves were removed by Japanese Government upon repair in 1924.
This is a representative construction of pavilion in Jejudo Island and valuable assets for the research of construction history.
The rafter inside building and the wall painting under it whose painter is unknown are being evaluated as quite an excellent piece of work.